Skip to main content
Version: 1.2.0

SDLC Tasks

Creation, processing, and monitoring the tasks are the basic activities ensuring the progress of software development. A task is the main entity of the whole development process since it contains information about the requriements to the responsible person, work progress, and result.

Access to tasks

Operationpda_adminpda_userOther roles
Create+The operation is allowed but the user can only fill in the Project field with the projects in which they are a team member or a team leader.-
Write+The operation is allowed for any user with the role, if the Project field is empty.
If the Project field is filled in, allowed for:
  • Team leader.
  • Team member.
  • The user specified in the Assigned to field.
If the field Product or Product module is filled in, allowed for the product and product module owner.
The user can only select a project where they are a team member or a team leader.
Delete+Allowed for the team leader of the project to which the task is related.-

Task types

Depending on the complexity of the project, selected approach and the workflow peculiarities, you can use various task types described in the following table:

Task typeDescription
EpicThis task type involves substantial amount of work. It includes one or more features and describes business needs of the solution.
FeatureThis is a considerable amount of work that results in the implementation of a certain product functionality. It includes one or more features and describes business needs the solution covers.
User storyThis is a task that contains the requirements framed according to a template from the consumer's perspective.
General taskThis is a universal option that can be divided into subtasks.
DefectThis is an error that needs to be fixed.
SubtaskThis is a special task type used for the decomposition of workload. The subtasks are always subservient to tasks of other types.

Task types hierarchy

  • The 1st and 2nd level tasks are the product level tasks. They are added by a product owner or team leader if the project is dedicated to a product.
  • The 3rd level tasks are the project level tasks. They are implemented by the project team and may be included in the 1st and 2nd level tasks.
  • The 4th level tasks are subtasks used for the decomposition of higher level tasks.

Tasks state model

The life cycles of all task types are identical by default for the facilitation of the workflow.

SDLC task state flow

Task states description

StateDescriptionAvailable transitions
NewThe task is added.
  • Backlog
  • Canceled
BacklogThe task was added to the backlog and can be taken to work.
  • Development
  • Canceled
DevelopmentThe assigned user started working on the task.
  • Review
  • Canceled
ReviewThe work on the task is completed.
  • Testing
  • Canceled
TestingThe task is currently in testing.
  • Done
  • Canceled
DoneThe task is completed and ready for release.
  • Released
  • Canceled
ReleasedThe task is included in a released version.
The state is assigned automatically after the release of the version that includes the task.
CanceledThe task was canceled.

Create a task

To create a task, complete the following steps:

  1. Find the required task type in the SDLC → Tasks section of the navigator. Open the list for the required task type.
  2. Click New and fill in the form fields.
  3. Click Save or Save and exit to apply the changes.

Task form fields

NameYSpecify the task title.
StateNSelect the task state. The available options vary depending on the current task state.
The field appears after saving the record and is automatically filled in with New.
BlockedNSelect the checkbox to prohibit the transition of task to another state. When the checkbox is selected, the State field is read-only and the task card cannot be dragged between the columns.
The field appears after saving the record.
Parent taskNSpecify a higher level task that includes this task. Depending on the type of the created task, the following types are available for selection:
  • Feature: only Epics are available.
  • User story, General task, Defect: Epics and Features are available.
  • Subtask: all task types are available apart from other Subtasks.
The field is not available for Epics.
PriorityNSpecify the task priority. Available options:
  • Low
  • Medium
  • High
RankYSpecify the task rank. The lower the rank is, the higher the task priority is.
The field is not available for Subtasks.
DescriptionNAdd the task description.
Assigned toNSpecify the employee responsible for the task.
Work notesNAdd work notes.
As aYSpecify the consumer of the functionality that will be implemented in the User story.
The field is available only for User stories.
I wantYDescribe the functionality that will be implemented in the User story.
The field is available only for User stories.
So thatYSpecify the consumer pains that will be solved by the functionality implemented in the User story.
The field is available only for User stories.
Acceptance criteriaYSpecify the parameters that the task must comply with to be considered completed.
The field is available only for Features and User stories.

Several related lists are located on the task form.

For the 1st and 2nd level tasks:

  • Child Tasks – the list of tasks for which the current task is the parent task.

For the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd level tasks:

  • Subtasks – the list of subtasks related to this task.